Behavioral Health Advisory Committee


The Behavioral Health Advisory Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Whatcom County Executive, via the Health Department, advising on general priorities for behavioral health programs, including substance abuse and mental health services. 


Meetings are quarterly in the County Courthouse, Conference Room 514, at 3:30 pm.  The 2020 meeting dates are:
  • January 27
  • April 27
  • July 27
  • October 26

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings.  Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes



The Committee consists of 11 members. Ten members are appointed by the County Executive, and one member must be a member of the County Council. 

Current Membership Roster

Kathy Kershner           County Council member
Anne Deacon              Health Department Designee
Nicholas Evans           Substance Use Disorder Advocate
Bill Elfo                          Whatcom County Sheriff
Mullane Harrington     PeaceHealth Representative
Dascomb Jamison     Substance Use Recovery Advocate
Wendy Jones                County Chief of Corrections
Chris Phillips                Mental Health Recovery Advocate
Dave Reynolds              Judicial representative
Susan Wood                  Behavioral Health Professional
Michael Massanari      Mental Health Recovery Advocate


All members are residents of Whatcom County. Membership must include one representative from:
  • PeaceHealth St. Joseph's Medical Center
  • Judicial branch of County government
  • Whatcom County Sheriff or designee
  • Chief of Corrections or designee
  • County Public Health Director or designee.
Additionally, the remaining five Executive-appointed positions shall include two people who are advocates of mental health recovery, two people who are advocates of substance use disorder recovery, and one behavioral health professional.


Term Length and Limits 

  • 3 year term
  • 2 consecutive full terms; 1 year separation required